SLCPD Liberty Bike Squad Recovers Illegally Possessed Gun and Cocaine
January 27, 2023
SLCPD Investigating Deadly Crash in Rose Park
January 31, 2023
Photo of a police badge


January 27, 2023


Media Contact Information:

SLCPD Statement on Death of Tyre Nichols

SALT LAKE CITY — Tonight, Salt Lake City Police Chief Mike Brown and the Salt Lake City Police Department’s Executive Command Staff released a joint statement with the Utah Capital City Fraternal Order of Police Lodge (FOP) regarding the death of 29-year-old Tyre Nichols in Memphis, Tennessee.

“Nothing is more fundamental and important for police officers, as public servants, than the expectations of honesty, dignity, responsibility, and accountability.

The video of Tyre Nichols’ death is heartbreaking, cruel, and intolerable. The Salt Lake City Police Department commends Memphis Police Chief Cerelyn Davis for her swift, righteous, and professional handling of this horrific case.

We strongly denounce the inexcusable conduct of the five people involved in the death of Tyre Nichols. Their actions are unbecoming of police officers; they do not represent the honorable and courageous women and men who make up law enforcement throughout our country and Salt Lake City. Every day, the Salt Lake City Police Department focuses on broadening our training and practices to preserve trust and respect with those we serve.

We are guided by our department’s core values to sustain and develop stronger relationships with our community and to promote responsibility and transparency. The Salt Lake City Police Department meets regularly with community members, organizations, stakeholders, and the city’s Racial Equity in Policing Commission as we advance the policies, practices, programs, and culture of our evolving police department.

Our work of becoming a better and more robust police agency is never ending. We are proud to have such great police officers and professional staff within our department who embrace and work to foster stronger relationships with our community, who advocate for and demand fairness and who are committed to the safety and protection of everyone.”



SLCPD Chief Mike Brown                                                     

SLCPD Deputy Chief Lance VanDongen

SLCPD Deputy Chief Scott Mourtgos

SLCPD Deputy Chief Victor Siebeneck

SLCPD Captain Stefhan Bennett

SLCPD Captain John Beener

SLCPD Captain Derek Dimond

SLCPD Captain Charli Goodman

SLCPD Captain Scott Smalley

SLCPD Captain Yvette Zayas

SLCPD Captain Mike Hatch

SLCPD Detective Kevin Murray

President, Utah Capital City Fraternal Order of Police Lodge